Survive & Save Programme

Once the younger club members complete the Rookie Lifeguard programme at age 12 or 13, they move straight on to the Survive & Save programme. This programme teaches the theory and practical skills needed for self-rescue & survival, rescue, lifesaving sport & fitness, life support and first aid, as well as providing a comprehensive understanding of water hazards, drowning and emergency management. These classes may also be divided into two or more groups, according to the level at which the participants are working.

The emphasis of the programme is on survival skills and self-rescue, as it aims to tackle an identified area of risk in which:

In addition, the Survive & Save programme gives great flexibility to develop and apply skills in the four areas of lifesaving: pool, still water, sea and sport.

There are three levels: bronze, silver and gold, with awards available in each of the lifesaving skills areas. All candidates must have a current Life Support award at the time of assessment and must pass a Core Element test at each level before undertaking an award at that level. Candidates who hold a higher Core Element can also be assessed for lower awards.


Bronze Awards

Prerequisite: Bronze Core

Bronze Medallion Lifesaving award

Bronze Beach Lifesaving award

Bronze Stillwater Lifesaving award

Bronze Sport Lifesaving award


Silver Awards

Prerequisite: Silver Core

Silver Medallion Lifesaving award

Silver Beach Lifesaving award

Silver Stillwater Lifesaving award

Silver Sport Lifesaving award


Gold Awards

Prerequisite: Gold Core

Gold Medallion Lifesaving award

Gold Beach Lifesaving award

Gold Stillwater Lifesaving award

Gold Sport Lifesaving award

Candidates start at Bronze level in most cases, though with sufficient skill and experience they may start at Silver level. Once a Bronze award has been achieved, a candidate can move on to Silver in the same area, or try the other awards at the same level. Similarly, candidates can progress into the Gold awards. If a candidate achieves Gold awards in three of the four different Lifesaving areas within a 24 month period, then they are automatically awarded the Distinction.

So the Distinction as the highest Lifesaving award still exists, but it is probably harder to achieve than the Heritage award as it requires a greater breadth of knowledge and understanding of theory, as well a higher level of fitness (especially for the Gold Sports award)!


Life Support

Teaches basic CPR and how to diagnose and treat choking, bleeding and shock. Passing this award shows an Effective level of skill and is valid for 24 months. It is a prerequisite for all the Survive & Save awards.


Life Support 3

Extending your skills in resuscitation to children and babies, and life threatening first-aid incidents. Passing this award shows Excellence and is valid for 24 months. This is still an important award and remains a requirement for those with responsibility for children and babies.

National Rescue Award for Swimming Teachers and Coaches
Specifically designed for Teachers and Coaches of Swimming/ Aquatic Activities. The course focuses on the areas needed to supervise programmed activities safely. It has three compulsory areas:

SELSC offers tailor-made courses, for either Renewal or New Candidates, so please contact us with your requirements!

Sponsored by Website by
Cecil & Larter Terry Hawkins


Copyright © 2014 - St Edmundsbury Live Saving Club - All Rights Reserved

Read Disclaimer